h1

Miss muffin and her polenta, feta & sundried tomato muffins

April 23, 2008

Right now I’m busy prepping for my first cookery class @ La Cocotte this Thursday. I’ve been busy researching, testing, tasting, doing all things muffiny…so much so I think I’m actually becoming a muffin. I found out the word muffin comes from the old french term “moufflet” (=soft). And that the American muffins did originate from the English ones but quickly developed their own style.

The polenta, feta & sundried tomato muffins are ones I’ll be putting in the goody bag which everyone at the cookery class gets to take home (with a few sweets ones too). I’ll let you know how it goes.

Wish me luck!

Btw I tend to use a mini muffin tin because the size is great for snacks or dinner party canapés. But you can make it any size you like, just change the cooking time accordingly.

Polenta, feta & sundried tomato muffins

240g plain flour
150g polenta
2 tsp baking powder
150g sundried tomatoes
150g feta
1 handful of parsley
1 tsp of salt
1 egg
250ml milk
2 tbsp olive oil

Preheat the oven to 185°C. Chop the feta, sundried tomatoes and parsley smaller. Mix all the dry ingredients together. Then mix all the other ingredients. Combine both mixtures (don’t overmix will result in tough muffins). Spoon the mixture into the muffins cases. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes until they are golden. To verify poke a wooden skewer into the centre, if cooked it will come out clean.

8 comments

  1. Good luck! Hopefully you will have some fun stories to report back here


  2. Oh, I love savory muffins! These look yum, Rachel!


  3. “Un mouflet” is also an affectionate term for “child”…
    Have fun with the class!


  4. Amanda – Thanks. I”ll definetly let you know how it goes. A bit worried having to do it all in French.
    Mari – Yeah, they are yum. Really easy recipe to make for dinner party snacks. And you could easily freeze it too!
    Clotilde – Trop mignon! “Mouflet” I’m going to have to use that term for the kids I look after. Merci beaucoup.


  5. I love polenta and I love a savory muffin, so this is right up my alley.


  6. Good luck, sweetie!
    I have never made savory muffins and these look so delish!


  7. While “mouflet” means kid, “moufflet” with two “f” is (or was, the word isn’t used nowadays) a kind of stuffed wool hat, that’s soft and looks + or – like a muffin… there comes the name from 🙂


  8. http://lacocotte.wordpress.com/2008/04/29/seance-de-cake-up/



Leave a Reply

